top of page

Fri, Apr 22


New York

BISG Annual Meeting of Members

BISG Annual Meeting of Members
BISG Annual Meeting of Members

Time & Location

Apr 22, 2022, 8:00 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.

New York, 35 W 44th St, New York, NY 10036, USA

About the Event

BISG Members: $249 (early bird until 3/28); $349 (regular admission)

Non-Members: $349 (early bird until 3/28); $449  (regular admission)


8:00 a.m. - Registration opens - Breakfast buffet served + networking time

9:00 a.m. - Welcoming remarks - Kathleen Reid, BISG chair

9:15 a.m. - Keynote address - Michael Pietsch, CEO, Hachette Book Group

9:45 a.m. - Building Books Better (and Building Better Books)

Three of BISG’s committee chairs will discuss the work BISG is doing, as well as the opportunities we have in front of us, to help the book industry improve how it operates and competes against other products and services.


  • Kris Kliemann, Kliemann & Company (Rights Committee chair)
  • Ken Brooks, Treadwell Media Group (Supply Chain Committee chair)
  • Rachel Comerford, Macmillan Learning (Workflow Committee chair)

Moderated by Brian O’Leary, BISG

10:45 a.m. - Organizing Publishing to Serve Wider Markets: A DEI Conversation

Representatives from leading industry associations, each with active efforts to address issues related to diversity, equity, and inclusion, share their work, discuss their ongoing challenges, and offer their perspective on how the industry as a whole can move forward.

Speakers include:

  • Peter Berkery, Executive Director, AUPresses
  • Shelley Husband, SVP, Government Affairs and Special Projects, Association of American Publishers

11:30 a.m. - Future-Proofing Your Work

If change is the new black, being willing and ready to adapt is the coin of the realm. The open questions: Where do we start? How do we know what the future might look like? And will this ever end?

Speakers include:

  • Joshua Tallent, podcaster, Firebrand Technologies
  • Others to be announced

Noon - Plated lunch

BISG Business Session

Including the presentation of prior-year results, approval of the proposed budget for FY2023, and election of the incoming board of directors. Led by Kathleen Reid, with assistance from officers and staff.

Presentation of the BISG Annual Industry Awards, including:

  • Sally Dedecker Award for Lifetime Service
  • Industry Champion Award
  • Industry Innovator Award

2:00 p.m. - Top Opportunities to Improve Your Supply Chain

Looking back across the day, Tyler Carey (Westchester Publisher Services) and Patricia Stockland (Kind World Publishing) offer a short list of ideas and initiatives that the industry can implement to improve how our supply chains work.

2:30 p.m.Closing remarks

Kathleen Reid, with an invitation to join us at a post-event reception

2:30 - 4:00 p.m. - Post-event reception


Welcome and Opening Remarks (9:35)

Andrew Savikas, BISG Board Chair (Outgoing)

Opening Keynote: “Publishing for a Sustainable Future” (9:45)

Sherri Aldis, Chief of UN Publishing at the United Nations

The opening keynote is kindly sponsored by knk Publishing Software.

Sustainability in Practice: The Green Book Alliance (10:15)

Noah Genner, BookNet Canada  Brian O’Leary, Book Industry Study Group  Karina Urquhart, Book Industry Communication (UK)

Futureproofing Your Staff: Change Management in the Age of COVID-19, HR's New Role, Revisited (10:45)  Andrea Weinzimer, Hachette Book Group  Kate Danser, Princeton University Press  Randy Petway, LinkedIn

Inclusivity and Accessibility of Digital Content: Organizing Content to Serve Wider Markets (11:15)

Moderator: Laura Brady, House of Anansi Press

Rachel Comerford, Macmillan Learning  Guillian Hetzler, Benetech  Tzviya Siegman, John Wiley & Sons

Top Ten Operational Efficiencies for Every Organization (11:45)

Tyler Carey, Westchester Publishing Services Patricia Stockland, Kind World Publishing

Innovations in Paper, Ink, and Process (12:10)

Paul Randall, Hewlett Packard

Lynn Terhune, Books International

Brian O'Leary, BISG

BISG Business Session (12:45)

Votes to approve a proposed budget for fiscal year 2022 and a slate of candidates for the BISG Board of Directors

Annual BISG Industry Awards (1:00)

Sally Dedecker Award for Lifetime Service, presented to Maureen McMahon (Kaplan Publishing)

Industry Champion Award, presented to Connie Harbison (Baker & Taylor)

Industry Innovator Award, presented to Andy Hunter (

Closing Remarks (1:30)

Kathleen Reid, Elsevier, BISG Board Chair (Incoming)

Share This Event

bottom of page